How do you decide what to read next?

To Be Read (TBR). This is what avid readers refer to the list, pile, stack or shelf of books we have marked either digitally or in print that we want to read. It is that list of books in which we never see the end. And we are mostly okay with that. Right?

tbr list

How do you decide what book to read next from your TBR pile? Do you go in date order? For the reviewers out there, do you pick the next book based on what you have scheduled to review or blog about? I am a book blogger and I try to stick with books by order of how they are submitted to me, but sometimes that just doesn’t happen.

I have to have a feel for the type of book I am reading or I am not giving it my all. Sometimes I want sweet. Sometimes I want edgy and action packed. Sometimes I want flat out naughty. For example, I just finished a super hot contemporary erotic romance. It was a book hangover type book. I knew I had to switch to either historical, paranormal or suspense so I wouldn’t compare it to the next one I read. Because of this, I sometimes take a little longer to review books, but it is only because I want to give each book an open mind when I read it.

I am curious about the rest of you. Does anyone else have this problem? How do you pick your next book to read off of your TBR list?

This entry was posted in Amy R's Posts. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to How do you decide what to read next?

  1. Edie Ramer says:

    I like switching genres, unless the books are distinctly different. I used to gobble up books by one author until I read them all. I can’t do that anymore. I’ve become a fan of one author that I’m doing that with now. (She has a long backlist – thank God for me!) But even though I love her writing, I found that two in a row is all I can do. I need to step away and read another authors in between. And I have plenty of those on my Kindle and my counter!

    • Amy R says:

      Hi Edie – I used to do that. I would find a new author and then read everything written from that author. I find now, it is best to mix it up. Keeps things fresh. :)

  2. It just depends what I’m in the mood to read. But like Edie, I usually switch between genres. If I read a YA, I usually read a contemporary romance or something different next.
    Jennifer Estep`s last blog was …Poison Promise, Elemental Assassin #11, released …

  3. Mary Hughes says:

    Hi Amy,

    Oh, yes, I have that problem! Lol. In fact, when I read for contests, I also try to cross days so an entry doesn’t just get my Monday brain. When I read for pleasure, it’s definitely by mood. I usually read a few new books, then an old favorite, then more new, sprinkling in some nonfiction.

    • Amy R says:

      Oh, Mary, I think reading for contests would be very hard. I have a difficult time choosing what start rating to give a book (which is why I took them off my own personal blog). I can’t imagine reading books for a contest! I am part of a couples Bible study at church, so I do get my regular non-fiction reading in, too!

  4. Dale Mayer says:

    Hi Amy,

    I switch my reading all the time – the same as I do with my writing. I used to be able to read the same genre for years, and now I can’t. I need to break it up.
    Dale Mayer`s last blog was …USA Today List!!!

    • Amy Remus says:

      Hi Dale – I like that it seems there are more genres to choose from within their own genre. Like romantic suspense for example…you can have different levels of action, suspense and passion. There is something out there for everyone!

  5. Hi Amy! I usually pick depending on my mood, too. I don’t switch genres as much as I should, at least not lately. But then lately I haven’t had a lot of time of read either. Darn it.

    Love that I’m not the only one who will never see the end of her TBR pile. :)
    Robin Bielman`s last blog was …Release Day for Veiled Target!

    • Amy Remus says:

      Hi Robin – It is good to know I am not the only one that chooses this way. I used to get myself all worked up when I couldn’t just select the next book in order by date. :)

Comments are closed.